Aksak Maboul - Onze Danses Pour Combattre La Migraine LP
Crammed Discs

Aksak Maboul - Onze Danses Pour Combattre La Migraine LP

Regular price €21.50 €0.00

Here's at last the vinyl reissue of the seminal album, recorded in 1977 by Crammed founder Marc Hollander with Vincent Kenis and originally released on Marc Moulin's ephemeral Kamikaze label.

In the spring of 1977, two young Belgian musicians who call themselves Aksak Maboul (Hollander & Kenis) set out to record an album in which they playfully fused and deconstructed all kinds of genres to create their own musical world. Three years later, Hollander founded the Crammed label.   

Leapfrogging over style & genre boundaries, they took in elements of rock, electronics, jazz, early 20th century classical, imaginary African & Balkan music, American minimalism, and even proto-techno (as in the surprising track Saure Gurke, which foreshadows some characteristic Detroit techno riffs by a good ten years).    

"Onze Danses…" became a cult album, and can retrospectively be viewed as a manifesto for the Crammed aesthetics, a blueprint for some of the directions which the label went on to follow during the next few decades.

Audience interest in the music of Aksak Maboul has been constant over the years, and has significantly increased since last year's release of the band's "lost" avant-pop opus, Ex-Futur Album (recorded in 1981-83, completed and first issued in 2014), which was enthusiastically welcomed, and led Marc Hollander and (Honeymoon Killers singer) Véronique Vincent to form a new band and play shows for the first time since the 80s.

Onze danses pour combattre la migraine is reissued with its original 1977 artwork. It will contain a double insert with texts and pictures, as well as a digital download code for the album plus three bonus tracks.  


A1 Mercredi Matin 0:22
A2 (Mit 1) Saure Gurke (Aus 1 Urwald Gelockt) 2:25
A3 Animaux Velpeau 0:34
A4 Milano Per Caso 3:18
A5 Fausto Coppi Arrive! 1:08
A6 Chanter Est Sain 3:09
A7 Son Of L'Idiot 3:20
A8 DBB (Double-Bind Baby) 3:25
A9 Cuic Steppe 4:20
A10 Tous Les Trucs Qu'il Y A Là Dehors 1:55
B1 Ciobane 0:21
B2 The Mooche 1:35
B3 Vapona, Not Glue 6:54
B4 Glympz 4:39
B5 Three Epileptic Folk Dances 2:16
B6 Autre Chose D'Autre 0:45
B7 Mastoul Alakefak 6:14
B8 Comme On A Dit 1:28

You might also like