John J. Lafia ‎– 1980 - 1985 2xLP
John J. Lafia ‎– 1980 - 1985 2xLP
Discos Transgénero

John J. Lafia ‎– 1980 - 1985 2xLP

Regular price €25.99 €0.00

Excellent compilation LP with works by LA avant-garde composer John Lafia. Gatefold edition of 400 copies.

Active in Los Angeles’ 1980-1986 underground music scene, John Lafia is best known for the hypnotic album Prayers, released through Barry Craig’s influential, cassette-only label Trance Port Tapes. "Life Is Short", "A Promise", “Dream", “Hidden Things", "Spaghetti Western", and "Escape" come from that release.

This compilation also features tracks from subsequent Trance Port releases: LA Mantra 2 ’s "Queen Of The Nile" and Phantom Takes’ "The Moth". John’s “Odyssey Girls” appeared on the seminal 1983 spoken word LP, English As A Second Language. “The Confession,” a collaboration with legendary producer Ethan James, was released on 1986’s LP, Voices From North America. While recording this music, Hollywood-based John also dreamt of making his own films.

To support himself, he intermittently crewed on low-budget movies, including fellow UCLA Film School alumni, Alex Cox’s infamous Repo Man. Cinematic influence comes to the fore in titles such as, “Spaghetti Western”, “Queen Of The Nile”, “Escape”, and “Hidden Things”. Working alone endlessly in his home studio, John used the recording environment as a launching pad for exploring his uncensored psyche’s furthest dimensions. Hours of repetitive rhythms often transported him into trance-like states.

Tracks “Propaganda” and “Art Of The Jungle” exemplify this technique. Others, “4AM”, “Doubt”, and “Montgomery Park”, are miniature psychodramas (replete with three-act structures). Songs "Life Is Short", and "Dream" grapple with life’s fragile and unknowable essence. "The Moth", "Fourth Of July", and "SOS", are sonic journeys into trance-like repetition.

This intensely personal music never intended to "find" an audience; it was a means in and of itself. Its decades-later rebirth in this compilation is a joyous surprise.


Gatefold edition limited to 400 copies,
Remastered at Alb-Estudi 
Lacquer Cut at Dubplates & Mastering 
Distributed by Aguirre Records 
Pressed by Optimal Media GmbH 
Designed by Daniel Entonado


A1 Life Is Short 03:54
A2 Queen Of The Nile 05:10
A3 Propaganda 07:52
A4 West Montgomery Park 05:58
B1 A Promise 06:25
B2 Dream 04:25
B3 Escape 07:06
B4 4AM 04:34
C1 Doubt 01:32
C2 Art Of Jungle 10:04
C3 The Circus Is In Town 08:10
C4 SOS 02:41
D1 4th Of July 05:19
D2 The Moth 05:48
D3 Hidden Things 05:23
D4 Spaghetti Western 05:35

You might also like